Showing 1–12 of 20 results

The Tennessee Titans are a professional American football team based in Nashville, Tennessee. The Titans compete in the National Football League (NFL) as a member club of the American Football Conference (AFC) South division, and play their home games at Nissan Stadium. Originally known as the Houston Oilers, the team was founded in 1959 and began play in 1960 in Houston, Texas, as a charter member of the American Football League (AFL). The Oilers won the first two AFL championships along with four division titles, and joined the NFL as part of the AFL–NFL merger in 1970. In 1997, the Oilers relocated to Nashville, Tennessee, but played at the Liberty Bowl Memorial Stadium in Memphis for one season. Due to low attendance, the team moved to Nashville’s Vanderbilt Stadium in 1998. For those two seasons, the team was known as the Tennessee Oilers, but changed its name to the Titans for the 1999 season, moving into Adelphia Coliseum (now known as Nissan Stadium). The Titans have played in the Super Bowl once (XXXIV), when they lost 23–16 to the St. Louis Rams. The Titans experienced a good amount of postseason success during the early 2000s when they made the playoffs in all but one season from 1999 to 2003, but only made the playoffs twice in the next thirteen years. Their fortunes improved in the late 2010s and from 2016 to 2021, the Titans had six consecutive winning seasons, the most since they were the Houston Oilers, and made four playoff appearances in that time.