Showing the single result

The Chicago White Sox are an American professional baseball team based in Chicago. The White Sox compete in Major League Baseball (MLB) as a member club of the American League (AL) Central division. The team plays its home games at Guaranteed Rate Field, located on Chicago’s South Side. The White Sox are one of two MLB teams based in Chicago, the other being the Chicago Cubs of the National League (NL) Central division. One of the American League’s eight charter franchises, the White Sox were established as a major league baseball club in 1900 as the Chicago White Stockings, before shortening their name to the White Sox in 1904. The White Sox won the 1906 World Series and the 1917 World Series, led by Eddie Cicotte, Eddie Collins and Shoeless Joe Jackson. Then they had to face a championship drought that lasted 87 years until won the AL pennant in 2005, and went on to win the World Series, led by MVP Jermaine Dye, Paul Konerko, Mark Buehrle, catcher A. J. Pierzynski, and Ozzie Guillén – the first Latino manager to win the World Series. The 87 years it took the White Sox to win the World Series stands as the second longest MLB championship drought of all time, with their crosstown rivals, the Chicago Cubs, holding the longest drought (107 seasons). The White Sox have an overall record of 9,411 – 9,309. Of the original sixteen teams prior to the expansion era, the White Sox have the least amount of league pennants with five.