Showing all 2 results

The Cleveland Guardians are an American professional baseball team based in Cleveland. The Cleveland Guardians compete in Major League Baseball (MLB) as a member club of the American League (AL) Central division. Since their establishment in 1901, the team has won 11 Central division titles, 6 American League pennants, and 2 World Series championships (in 1920 and 1948). The franchise originated in 1894 as the Grand Rapids Rippers, that played in the Western League (old name of the AL). The team relocated to Cleveland in 1900 and was called the Cleveland Lake Shores. When the AL declared itself a major league in 1901, Cleveland was one of its eight charter franchises. Originally called the Cleveland Bluebirds, the team was also unofficially called the Cleveland Bronchos in 1902. Beginning in 1903, the team was named the Cleveland Napoleons, after team captain Nap Lajoie. Following Lajoie’s departure after the 1914 season, they chose the name Cleveland Indians, allegedly a revival of the nickname that fans gave to the Cleveland Spiders while Louis Sockalexis, a Native American, was playing for the team. That name stuck and remained in use for more than a century. The team ceased using the name “Indians” following the 2021 season and were renamed the “Guardians” for 2022. From August 24 to September 14, 2017, the team won 22 consecutive games, the longest winning streak in American League history, and the second longest winning streak in Major League Baseball history. As of the end of the 2022 season, the franchise’s overall record is 9,684–9,214.