Showing all 5 results

The Oklahoma Sooners football program is a college football team that represents the University of Oklahoma (variously “Oklahoma” or “OU”). The team is a member of the Big 12 Conference, which is in Division I Football Bowl Subdivision (formerly Division I-A) of the National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA). The program began in 1895 and is one of the most successful programs of the modern era, with the most wins (606) and the highest winning percentage (.762) since 1945. The program claims 7 national championships, 50 conference championships, 167 first-team All-Americans (82 consensus), and seven Heisman Trophy winners. In addition, the school has had 29 former players and coaches inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame and holds the record for the longest winning streak in Division I history with 47 straight victories. Oklahoma is also the only program that has had four coaches with 100+ wins. They became the sixth NCAA FBS team to win 900 games when they defeated the Texas Tech Red Raiders on September 28, 2019. The Sooners play their home games at Gaylord Family Oklahoma Memorial Stadium in Norman, Oklahoma. Brent Venables is the head coach and has served since 2022.