Showing all 3 results

The Boston Celtics are an American professional basketball team based in Boston. The Celtics compete in the National Basketball Association (NBA) as a member of the league’s Eastern Conference Atlantic Division. Founded in 1946 as one of the league’s original eight teams, the Celtics play their home games at TD Garden. The Celtics are one of the most successful basketball teams in NBA history. The franchise is one of two teams with 17 NBA Championships. Four Celtics players (Bob Cousy, Bill Russell, Dave Cowens and Larry Bird) have won the NBA Most Valuable Player Award for an NBA record total of 10 MVP awards. The Celtics’ rise to dominance began in the late 1950s, after the team, acquired Bill Russell. Led by Russell and Bob Cousy, the Boston Celtics won their first NBA championship in 1957, that opened the greatest period in franchise history with eight consecutive NBA championships from 1959 to 1966. After Russell retired in 1969, the team entered a period of rebuilding. In the mid-1970s, the Celtics became contenders once again, winning two championships in 1974 and 1976. In the 1980s, the Celtics returned to dominance, won championships in 1981, 1984, and 1986. But after that, with departure and retirement of some players, the team struggled through the 1990s and much of the early 2000s. It was not until the Boston Celtics aquired Kevin Garnett, Paul Pierce, and Ray Allen that they found success once again with a championship in 2008. In 2022 season, the team broke through to Finals, losing to the Golden State Warriors.