Showing all 3 results

The Oakland Athletics (often referred to as the A’s) are an American professional baseball team based in Oakland, California. The Athletics compete in Major League Baseball (MLB) as a member club of the American League (AL) West division. The team plays its home games at the Oakland Coliseum. Throughout their history, the Athletics have won 9 World Series championships. One of the American League’s eight charter franchises, the team was founded in Philadelphia in 1901 as the Philadelphia Athletics. They won three World Series championships in 1910, 1911, and 1913, and back-to-back titles in 1929 and 1930. The team’s Hall of Fame players included Chief Bender, Frank “Home Run” Baker, Jimmie Foxx, and Lefty Grove. The team left Philadelphia for Kansas City in 1955 and became the Kansas City Athletics before moving to Oakland in 1968. Nicknamed the “Swingin’ A’s”, they won three consecutive World Series in 1972, 1973, and 1974. Then, the team won three consecutive pennants and the 1989 World Series. In 2002, the Athletics set the record for most consecutive wins in a single season with twenty, an event that would go on to be the pioneering step in the application of sabermetrics in baseball. After the Golden State Warriors moved across the Bay to San Francisco in 2019, and the Raiders to Las Vegas in 2020, the Athletics were left as the only Oakland franchise among the five major American professional sports leagues with teams in the San Francisco Bay area. From 1901 to 2021, the Athletics’ overall win – loss record was 9,150 – 9,552.